Driving with a suspended license is never a smart choice. Operating a motor vehicle prior to the expiration of your license suspension can result in further fines and penalties. Even driving a day earlier than allowed under your suspension terms will have severe consequences.
Consequences of Driving on a Suspended License
The State of New York has strict rules and regulations for all drivers that operate a motor vehicle while having a suspended license. In accordance to state law, you’ll face:
- Fines that range from $200 – $500
- A rise in insurance premiums or the loss of insurance
- The possibility to have suspension periods increased
- A minimum of 30 days in jail
Drivers may further be charged with second-degree aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle. This charge may be issued in the event that a license was suspended due to a driver operating a vehicle while under the influence. A person with previous convictions up to 18 months prior may also be charged under this penalty.
If you’re convicted of second-degree aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle, you may be charged with:
- Fine of $500 – $1000
- Up to 180 days in jail
Drivers that are caught driving under the influence while their license is suspended will receive:
- Fines of $500 – $5,000
Driving with a suspended license can lead to a driver’s license being revoked. A revoked license is the official termination of a license. If your license has been revoked, you can obtain a new license when the revocation period ends if you pass the written and road test and have permission granted by the DMV to reapply for licensure.
Driving under a suspended license will have dire consequences. Consulting with an attorney who is well-versed in New York’s traffic laws is recommended to reduce penalties, fines and potential jail time.